The Hotel Residence


Mavromichalai stands proudly at the center of Limeni and offers its visitors a combination of contemporary luxury with traditional Mani aesthetics. Limeni is a picturesque village located in the heart of the Mani peninsula which forms a part of the historic Laconic prefecture.

History

The historic tower-house is assumed to have been built during the middle of the 18th century (1762) from Pieros Mavromichalis and was officially the first residence of Petrobeis Mavromichalis, warlord of Mani and leader of the Hellenic war of independence against the ottoman Turks in 1821. The stone residence, following the construction of “Mavromichalai Palace” (opposite to our hotel), is also referred to as “Sissition” (mess), since it was provided from Petrobeis to his arm-chiefs as a place of resting and messing. Inside the building Petrobeis ancestors lived until the middle of the 20th century, when it was abandoned, which resulted to its isolation and eventual collapse. The Hellenic Ministry of Culture, by law, has proclaimed the residence as a unique historic preserved building.

Restoration

In the year of 2001 the ruined tower-house was acquired by Dimitrios A. Parpairis. The restoration project was undertaken from the architectural firm “Parpairis & Partners” (www.parpairis.gr) in the year of 2005 with great respect to the historic and architectural individuality of the building. Architects Dr. Apostolos Parpairis & Dr. Katerina Parpairi having multi-year experience and special know-how in the restoration of complex preserved buildings and settlements, achieved with patience and great attention, to restore the residence to its initial shape. The internal decoration was attended by Mrs. Areti Parpairi. The complete restoration of the tower-house was completed in the summer of 2007, in honor of the heroic family of Mavromichalai.

See Also

Back to top

© 2013 Mavromichalai  |  Contact us